Jeff Ruby Culinary Entertainment

Opticare Vision/Express Mobile Transport

Monday, March 9, 2015

3 HHS Seniors Recognized in C-SPAN Documentary Competition

C-SPAN announced Friday that three seniors from HHS were recognized for their submission in a StudentCam competition.

Jordan Stockslager, Alex Hellmann, and Benjamin Bardgett were honorable mention winners in C-SPAN’s national 2015 StudentCam competition.

Jordan, Alex, and Benjamin will receive $250 for their documentary, “Heroin: the Problem.” 

The national competition, now in its 11th year, invites middle school and high school students to produce a five to seven minute documentary on a national policy issue.

Students were asked to answer the question, “The Three Branches and You: tell a story that demonstrates how a policy, law, or action by either the executive, legislative, or judicial branch has affected you or your community.” In response, organizers said C-SPAN received 2,280 video submissions from almost 5,000 students in 45 states and Washington, DC. 

“This year, the competition saw its greatest number of participants ever,” Craig McAndrew, C-SPAN's Manager of Education Relations, said. “All aspects of these student video productions, including the research, planning, and diverse range of expert interviews, demonstrate the highest levels of critical thought and initiative."

“StudentCam affords our nation’s youth a platform to express their opinions on national issues, and we’re confident these documentaries will prove (to be) eye opening and inspire viewers across the country,” McAndrew said. 

Documentaries were judged by a panel of C-SPAN education representatives and evaluated based on the thoughtful examination of the competition’s theme, quality of expression, inclusion of varying sides of the documentary’s topic, and effective incorporation of C-SPAN programming.

For the 2015 competition, the top three most popular documentary topics were:
·         Education
·         Healthcare
·         Economy

“Time Warner Cable is proud to partner with C-SPAN on their annual StudentCam documentary competition and is excited to congratulate Jordan Stockslager, Alex Hellmann, and Benjamin Bardgett from our local community. It’s a rare opportunity to honor students for thinking critically about issues important in our community and across the nation. We are pleased to recognize them locally and nationally for their creative academic achievement,” Mark Dunford, Area Vice President for Time Warner Cable said.

Jordan, Alex, and Benjamin are among 347 students from across the country winning a total of $100,000, including one grand prize winner, four first prize winners, 16 second prize winners, 32 third prize winners and 97 honorable mentions. The150 winning videos may be viewed here.

No comments:

Post a Comment