Jeff Ruby Culinary Entertainment

Opticare Vision/Express Mobile Transport

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Highlands Nominated for 18 Cappies Awards

Nominations include Best Lead Actor and Best Critic Team
Dustin Parson and Brenna Payne from Highlands' Little Shop of Horrors. 
Highlands High School has been nominated for 18 Cappies awards for their fall musical, Little Shop of Horrors. Nominations include Best Lead Actor in a Musical, Best Male and Female Vocalists,  and Best Critic Team. Winners will be announced at the Cappies Awards Gala which will be held on Friday, May 27, 2016, in the Procter and Gamble Hall at the Aronoff Center.
I am very proud of the students in the theatre program,” said Jason Burgess, Highlands High School theatre director. “I love that we are getting as many nominations for technical aspects such as set design and writing aspects like best critic team as we are for onstage performances such as best actor in a musical. It goes to show that we have a well-rounded program full of talent and that students are engaged in every facet of the theatrical process. That is the best feeling.”
This is an advertisement. 

The Cappies, "Critics and Awards Program," is a program through which high school theatre and journalism students are trained as critics, attend shows at other schools, write reviews and publish those reviews in local newspapers. At the end of the year, the student critics vote for awards that are presented at a formal Cappies gala.

Tickets to the Cappies Gala can be purchased online here.

For more information about the Highlands High School theatre program, please contact Jason Burgess, theatre director, by phone at 859.815.2512, by e-mail at or visit

A full list of nominees are below:

Highlands' actors Savannah Slaby, Lexie Gabbard and Caroline Lembright. 
Marketing and Publicity - Ben Bardgett, Ellie Conniff, Scott Earle, and Barbara Nagel

Special Effects and/or Technology - Ben Bardgett, Scott Earle, Kat Finseth

Sets - Payton Epperson, Lily Fennel and Crew

Creativity - Kaiya Linkugel

Ensemble in a Musical - Crystal, Chiffon and Ronnette (Lexie Gabbard, Caroline Lembright, Savannah Slaby)

Featured Actor in a Musical - Grant Sower

Female Vocalist - Savannah Slaby

Male Vocalist - Payton Epperson

Comic Actor in a Musical - Dustin Parsons

Supporting Actor in a Musical - Spencer Manyet

Lead Actor in a Musical - Noah Moore

Up and Coming Critic - Victoria Forbes & Sophia Manyet

Female Critic - Ellie Conniff

Male Critic - Noah Moore

Best Critic Team

Top Critique - Ellie Conniff & Noah Moore

No comments:

Post a Comment