Jeff Ruby Culinary Entertainment

Opticare Vision/Express Mobile Transport

Tuesday, July 19, 2016

July Board of Education Meeting Roundup

Noah & Ben receive their Champions t-shirts from the Board
By Jennifer Summer

The Fort Thomas Board of Education met on Monday, July 11th at 6:30 pm.  All board members were present.

Jon Stratton presented the Cappies Award winners for the HMS production of Little Shop of Horrors.  Noah Moore won for Best Male Critic, and Ben Bardgett, Ellie Conniff, Scott Earle, and Barbara Nagel won for Best Marketing & Publicity.  The Board congratulated the students and gave each a Champions t-shirt and a certificate of achievement.   

"We're here to recognize them for their accomplishments," said Mr. Stratton.   

This is an advertisement. 
Jerry Wissman gave the Board an update on the construction work, and shared current photos of the renovations at Moyer. A motion passed to pay Morel Construction $562,942.80 for the work at Moyer.  

Jon Stratton made a recommendation to opt out of the Federal Lunch Program for the 2016-2017 school year.  This passed unanimously with a motion by Mrs. Lisa Duckworth and a second by Mr. Jeff Beach.

Ginger Webb brought up the issue of eliminating the elementary Literacy Leader positions and establishing a Grade Level Leader position at each elementary school.  

"Those positions were in charge of training for our portfolio scoring, coordinating the portfolios, training the teachers and so forth, and we no longer do that as part of state assessment, so the principals felt like the funds that were going to fund that position could be better utilized in another manner, so they're requesting that we create grade level leaders at the elementary, and they would be able to selective one teacher in each grade level in each of the buildings to be a liaison between the administration and the teachers to help with communication, to help with technology integration, and so forth," said Ms. Webb.  The stipend will not require additional funds, but rather will be divided up six ways at each school.  

The motion was made by Mr. Jeff Beach and seconded by Mrs. Karen Allen, and passed unanimously. 

The following personnel action has taken place since June 13, 2016:

Employment of the following Certified Employee: 
Marie Zimmerman - Library Media Specialist - JES

Employment of the following Classified Employees: 
Kathy Eaton from Instructional Asst. at MES to Secretary AP/AD at HHS

Employment of the following Extra Service Positions: 
Marie Zimmerman - Journalism Sponsor - JES
Krista Meadows - Detention Monitor - HHS
Michelle LaMantia - STLP Sponsor - WES

Resignation of the following Certified Employees:
Jason Lynch - Math - HHS

Resignation of the following Extra Services Positions:
Casey Gesenhues - STLP Sponsor - WES
Jason Lynch - Football Asst. Coach/60 Minutes - HHS
Lisa Birkley - Crafts Club Sponsor - HMS

Notification of MOA with KDE for the following Certified Employee:
Norma Lawless

Notification of the following Volunteers:
Gary Schrader - Football - HMS
Kenny Herald - Basketball - HMS

Board Chair Karen Allen adjourned the meeting at 6:58 pm.

No comments:

Post a Comment