Jeff Ruby Culinary Entertainment

Opticare Vision/Express Mobile Transport

Friday, August 24, 2018

Highlands Leads Northern Kentucky for Mr. Football Finalists

Derek Smith (1998) was a finalist for Kentucky Mr. Football. 
The Kentucky Mr. Football Award is an honor given to the top high school football player in the state of Kentucky and in the KHSAA. Awarded by a panel of sports writers and broadcasters from around the state's Associated Press, many past winners have proceeded to have successful college careers and even play in the National Football League.

Since the award was first given in 1986, Highlands High School has had the second most finalists among all schools. They have had two winners, Jared Lorenzen (1998) and Patrick Towles (2011).

RELATED: Highlands vs. Campbell County (Preview - 8-24-18)

Here are all of the northern Kentucky finalists over the years.

1996 Justin Frisk
1998 Jared Lorenzen (winner), Derek Smith
2000 Gino Guidugli, Brett Hamblen
2001 Rob Smith
2009 Austin Collinsworth
2011 Patrick Towles (winner)
2014 Beau Hoge, Alex Veneman

Newport Central Catholic 
1986 Frank Jacobs (winner)
2011 Brady Hightchew

Covington Catholic 
1987 Mike Woolf
1988 Paul Hladon
1992 Adam McCormack
2005 Drew Ellison
2017 Kam Butler, AJ Mayer

1991 Craig Wilmhoff
1994 Greg Hergott

Boone County
1994 Shaun Alexander (winner)
2007 Cory Farris

Simon Kenton
2009 Miles Simpson
2017 Matt Shearer

2013 Drew Barker

2016 Tanner Morgan

No comments:

Post a Comment