Jeff Ruby Culinary Entertainment

Opticare Vision/Express Mobile Transport

Monday, December 16, 2019

Rep. Dennis Keene named Commissioner of Local Government, will resign House seat

Representative Dennis Keene (D-Campbell County) has joined the Executive Branch office of Governor Andy Beshear as the Commissioner of the Department of Local Government (DLG).

DLG is a critical arm of the Governor’s office, creating a partnership with local governments to deal with matters of budget, personnel and other issues. A special election will be called by Governor Beshear to fill House District 67 that has been held by Representative Keene since 2005.

“I am pleased to announce that state Rep. Dennis Keene will join #TeamKentucky as the commissioner of the Department for Local Government,” said Governor Andy Beshear. “Dennis is committed to putting people over politics and he will make a great liaison between my administration and Kentucky's local communities.”

“It has been the greatest honor of my life to represent the citizens of the 67th District in Campbell County,” said Dennis Keene. “It is time to turn the page and usher in a new generation of leaders in the Kentucky House of Representatives, so today I announce my resignation from the House of Representatives to take the role of Commissioner of Local Government. I hope to bring my experience of working with local communities to the team and will continue to be a strong advocate for Northern Kentucky and communities across the Commonwealth.”

“Thank you to every person who voted, volunteered and stood with me during my tenure as state representative. It is with gratitude that I reflect upon my time in office and look forward to exciting times ahead.”

Keene serves the citizens of the 67th District (Newport, Bellevue, Dayton, Silver Grove, Melbourne, Highland Heights, Southgate, and Wilder) in Campbell County since 2005. Keene was an economic development advisor for Southbank Partners.

A special election will be called later to fill Keene's unexpired term. The seat would be up for regular election in 2020 for a full two-year term, as well.

No comments:

Post a Comment